Colline Pisane

/kohl-LEE-neh PEE-zah-neh/

Chianti are full, fruity red wines of varying quality from Tuscany, the largest DOC area in Italy. There are seven zones of Chianti: Chianti Classico, Chianti Colli Aretini, Chianti Colli Fiorentino, Chianti Colli Senesi, Chianti Colline Pisane, Chianti Montalbano and Chianti Rufina. Wines from Chianti Classico and Rufina are particularly distinguished. Chianti Classico describes wines made in the heart of Chianti, the original wines and of fine quality. The word "vecchio" indicates that a wine has been aged for two years, while "riserva" is aged for three. Chianti is sold in distinctive bottles in which the swollen base is encased in woven raffia known as a fiasco. Chianti wines are made from Sangiovese, Canaiolo, Trebbiano and Malvasia grapes. Much of Chianti is produced in communes or by consortia.