Calabria is the toe of Italy. Provinces include Reggio di Calabria, Catanzaro and Cosenza. The chief town is Reggio. It is coastal, mainly mountainous and partially forested. Vines, citrus fruits and olives are cultivated. Sheep and goats are raised and the area is known for its aubergines (US: eggplants) and swordfish. It has suffered much from earthquakes, deforestation, erosion and malaria. In Roman times the heel of Italy was known as Calabria, but the Byzantines transferred the name to the toe (previously known as Bruttium).



Related terms